Uncategorized

Making it through

  
My mother has been in and out of jail/prison my entire life. This weekend was the first time she has seen me cheer in 3 years due to her being in prison. I know some people who blame parents like mine for the bad choices they make in life, but not me. My mom is the very reason that I am a decent and caring human being today. I know the difference between right and wrong, and I make the best choices I can in life. Even though my mom is different than most moms, she loves me just as much, if not more as other moms love their daughters, and she supports me 100%. Without her and the mistakes she has made in life, consequences wouldn’t be a big deal to me. But I do everything to the best of my ability and I choose to love everyone with an always optimistic mindset. 

Effects of parental incarceration – http://aspe.hhs.gov/pdf-report/effects-parental-incarceration-young-children

Statistics of women/mothers in prison – http://www.aetn.org/programs/mothersinprison/facts

Standard

Leave a Reply

